According to the World Health Organization, drowning is the 3rd leading cause of unintentional injury death in the world, claiming more than 370,000 lives each year. 

In an effort to raise awareness about drowning and the need for broader water safety education worldwide, the International Water Safety Foundation is hosting the World’s Largest Tread-A-Thon on International Water Safety Day, May 15, 2021.

Teams from around the world will tread water for 30 minutes in hopes that together they will set a new world record for the largest number of people treading water at the same time in different locations!

How to Participate

Want to create a team for the World’s Largest Tread? Click here to sign up. Don’t have a team, but still want to participate in the tread? Join Diversity in Aquatics’ tread team here > 

Once you’re signed up, join the tread on May 15 from your local pool, lake or ocean!

Date: May 15, 2021

Time: 

  • 8:00 AM-8:30 AM Pacific Standard Time (PST)
  • 9:00 AM-9:30 AM Mountain Standard Time (MT)
  • 10:00 AM-10:30 AM Central Standard Time (CST)
  • 11:00 AM-11:30 AM Eastern Standard Time (EST)

For more information, view the International Water Safety Day packet >

You’re also welcome to donate to the International Water Safety Foundation to support their swimming, water safety and safe rescue programming for children. Click here to make a donation.

25% of your donation directly supports the International Water Safety Foundation’s water safety programming, and 75% of your funds will be allocated to your team, or a drowning prevention program of your choice.

We hope you’ll join us in celebrating International Water Safety Day and the World’s Largest Tread! Find more information here >

Leave a Reply